SharePoint Caveat – BeforeProperties in SharePoint workflow

I had to develop an application to track the status of delivery of an order whose details would be stored in a list. To accomplish this I had to choose either an event receiver or a workflow. I chose workflows since workflows would give me a better development environment with visual representation of the flow of process using which I can do the changes so easily which is not possible with event receivers.

Of course I chose to go ahead with Visual Studio workflow rather than SharePoint designer workflow due to the recursive process involved in the requirement.

I started my development and was so happy with the way it was progressing until I faced with a hurdle which led me to stop developing the workflow and instead start with an event receiver from scratch. I was really disappointed with that.

The requirement was to compare the values of a certain field before and after the list item has been updated. This can be achieved by creating 2 workflow properties to store the after properties and before properties of the list item.

The problem was when I found that BeforeProperties was always null in the ItemUpdated event activity and only the AfterProperties had values in it. I wondered why it is null always. When I tried the same workflow for a document library instead, I found that both BeforeProperties and AfterProperties to be holding values and were not null.

After googling I found that workflows for lists have the same limitation as that of event receivers for lists. And that is finding null value in the BeforeProperties for a list item in an ItemUpdated event receiver in a list. This limitation is present in both event receiver and workflow when attached to a SharePoint list. But you can overcome this limitation in an event receiver by replacing Item Updated event receiver with an Item Updating event receiver. In an Item updating event receiver you can find values in the BeforeProperties of the item that is getting updated. You can more about it over here. But in a workflow attached to a list there is no work around which means workflow is not going to be of much use for a list in this case.

2 thoughts on “SharePoint Caveat – BeforeProperties in SharePoint workflow

Leave a Reply

